top of page

Sarai Quinice

Updated: Jan 26, 2021

The acting world is glamorous in the public view, but in the eyes of someone already in it-- some days are definitely better than others. Not to mention trying to go through school life while in a pandemic. Sarai Quinice knows this firsthand from her experience this past semester. From her humble beginnings of selling baked goods and putting on small shows with her friends at her grandmother’s house, Sarai has always had both an entrepreneurial and entertainment spirit. The journey to growing in the industry hasn’t always been easy but she’s made it worth her while. Sarai was initially inspired by Yara Shahidi acting in the movie, Imagine That. Seeing someone that looks like her is what helped add fuel to the fame of the burning passion of acting in her heart.


The real work began at the age of five years old after involving herself in her school (Cornerstone Christian Academy) in their different seasonal programs and other productions that they would put on. Her first lead role opportunity came from this school when being cast as “Beauty” in her school's summer program rendition of Beauty & The Beast called Beauty & The Brute.



This experience opened her up to doing various musicals over the years and later winning various accolades by her name. One experience she credited the most was working with one of her favorite production companies in Philadelphia, John Graves Productions, after being cast in plays such as Black Kid Joy and the NoName Play 1 and 2.


Since she’s now a sophomore at Marymont Manhattan College, she has managed to receive various acting opportunities and nominations for awards such as “Best Featured Actress” and “Best Actress” from notable organizations.


Things for Sarai haven't always been easy, she had to let her love for the craft of acting motivate her past her limitations. After being diagnosed with Ulna Radius Fusion at birth, she struggled with having self-confidence when it came to performing as her peers did. This condition has left her unable to turn her left arm over palm-up. However, Sarai eventually grew in her self-confidence which has been one of the transcending forces in her success.



The UpNext: How have you been handling acting and being in school still?

Sarai Quince: I always have a good relationship with my professors and I would communicate with them if I were to have an audition or if I am booked for a specific day.

Make sure your professors know who you are and that you’re not just a number to them.


UN: When was that "ah-ha" moment for you when you knew that you needed to take acting more seriously?

SQ: Definitely the Yara Shahidi moment I had! Also, when I was younger I was the type to have sleepovers with fashion shows, reenact movies, and every time it was a birthday, I would tell my friends not to sing so I could perform and sing, you know it was their birthday. Karaoke nights at my grandmother’s house was something big too. People from the neighborhood would come and watch with like 20 other kids with my little karaoke machine that was a Christmas gift.


These experiences later led to Sarai’s work once she got older, and what propelled her even more, was living out her personal mantra of “executing everything with excellence”, especially when it comes to consulting other actors and working with industry personnel.


“When people see me perform, I want them to see God in me.”

UN: How have you maintained your relationship with God through your journey and when work may take you away from him?

SQ: I would pray frequently and would try to read my Bible frequently. Really anything that would come to mind, I would put it on my social media to keep him in conversation because it’s not just about worship, it’s about relationship. I actually got closer to him when I stopped going to church because of judgment from different angles. Every time I get a new opportunity, I always pray before I do it, and a part of my worship is talking to him and making time for him.


UN: What does Sarai preparing for a role look like?

SQ: I start off with praying about it; thanking God of course for the opportunity and I continue to say “if this role is not for me, allow me to book the room.” The ultimate goal is booking the room, not necessarily booking the role. My acting could be great, but they may want someone that’s lighter, darker, kinkier, or with looser curled hair-- as actors, we have to hone in on what we can and what we are in control of which is our acting. Following that, I’d reference my character chart that I use and break down the script into three parts for my method that I gained from a good friend of mine (Chris Ammanuel/Black Lightning).

“Anybody can do what’s in black, what about doing what’s in white? Aka, what’s not on the page”.

Sarai proceeded to explain to me how breaking down the script helped her better assess the character's mannerisms more carefully, along with evaluating their surroundings, history, and analyzing all of the lines to help add more depth to what the character may say or do in a scene.


This furthers the notion of just because you book a role, doesn’t mean that the work is done. Not only do you have to maintain it, but you have to let your light shine through to convey that character's depth to an audience.


UN: Tell me about a role you played that was out of your comfort zone and what did you do to overcome that?

SQ: My first lead role as Nicole (All I’m Worth, 2018). It was about sexual abuse in the black household, and in the movies, I had been molested by my step-dad. It was uncomfortable for me because my father is not in my life. It took me out of my comfort zone but my cast and mom helped me to feel comfortable. That had never actually happened to me so I couldn’t even imagine how that experience must have been but God is a healing God so I pray for them. Just to have the platform and the ability to share someone else’s truth means a lot.


UN: What's been one of your biggest lessons from the film industry?

SQ: Definitely stand your ground. So many times I’ve been taken advantage of as a young, black woman, and I started when I was fifteen. You can get so caught up in the industry and working with adults at such a young age can be intimidating but it helped me to grow. Really understand your worth and what you deserve, there have been so many times where actors haven’t received their footage or been mistreated onset and whether it’s on-stage or on a set, no matter what type of production, it’s a team effort.

“Treat the janitor as you would treat the CEO”

Sarai also mentioned to me how she learned the power of telling people "no". When she began to pray more about the opportunities she was receiving instead of just instantly doing them, it helped give her better discernment on what productions or co she should associate herself with.


UN: To someone who is looking to do what you do, what would be your advice to them?


SQ: Find your purpose. Really think as to why you want to do this and just remember that patience is a virtue. Staying patient can help God to guide you through this industry. After he guides you, that gut feeling you have, get into classes and network. Whether it’s inside or outside of class, go home and do the homework. Always be a good note taker and even when you’re not in class, do research. Since I’ve been researching more, it's made me more specific in my approach. For example, before I asked “how to audition” but now it’s “how to get dramatic lighting versus comedic lighting”.


You never know when your opportunity might come so always have your bag packed in case you need to fly.


"It's all about how you personally brand yourself." She responded after being asked about seeking a talent agent. "Let the talent agent find you."


As she went more in-depth about her experience of having a manager, it was later learned that the percentages of how much a manager or talent agent or even both can impact your navigation when it comes to finances. A manager has the potential to help you find a talent agent, but they can also be found throughout social media avenues and networking events. The connections you make will play a vital role in your success as an actor just as doing your research and learning the craft thoroughly will.


Sarai would be considered “Up Next” because her mindset is not based upon her actual status. She hasn’t set the standard, she’s allowed God to be the standard and let His light shine through her work. Though she’s in an industry that isn’t always kind, she makes sure that she is. At such a young age, she has grasped the value of her talents and is taking the world by storm day by day.



To keep up with Sarai and her journey, be sure to follow her @saraiquinice

All photographs courtesy of Serai’s Eyes (Seraiah Nicole) @seraiahnicole/@serais.eyes


185 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page