top of page

Aaron Anthony Harper The Thespian

BY: JADE LEONARD

PHOTOGRAPHY BY: Spencer Selover, Reymark Palcon, and Geo Leon

 

Aaron Anthony Harper is an African American from Hawaii, which is something you don’t hear everyday. He’s ambitious, driven, goal oriented, and determined to pursue his ultimate dream to the fullest, regardless of the situation. He studied at the University of Colorado - Colorado Springs, freshman and sophomore year. Then, Chaminade University in Hawaii. After realizing they did not have a film program, he majored in political science. Like many before him, the school life didn’t fit well with him, so senior year, with two classes to finish, he dropped out. He waited 5 months then took to the skies, headed for La-La Land.




The life of an actor in the complex world of film, is not for the weak. Aaron wakes up at 4:30 in the morning, works out before work, then heads to set, which can lasts up to 12 hours some days, depending on the set. “It’s hard, but it’s a passion; you gotta do what you gotta do.”



For Aaron, acting is therapeutic, and he was naturally drawn to the act of performing and entertaining, since 4 or 5 years old. He got away from it during middle and high school, then came back around to the art in college. Okay, so he needed an easy A and signed up for Acting 101. He hadn’t done anything in acting for so long (it’s never too late right?), but when he took the class he fell back in love. After the course ended, he reflected and realized he still had a genuine passion and love for it. He waited a few years to save money and moved to LA from Hawaii in 2017. "I asked myself why not? Anything is possible, you never know what might happen." Ever since then, he's been pursuing it as a full time career.




Anything is possible, you never know what might happen. - Aaron Anthony Harper

Upon the kickstart of his career, Anthony's had a plethora of different roles: a guest star role on Hawaii Five-O, played a cop, science fiction roles, played the dude the girl cheats on her man with, and became a big fish in a small pond; he wanted to push the boundaries and see how far he could go with it. “The possibilities are endless.”

The UpNext: How did your doctor parents feel about you taking this path?


Aaron Anthony Harper: Parents didn't pressure me to be a doctor or lawyer but they didn't understand. The entertainment industry was a new concept for them, pursuing a career that's not guaranteed. You wanna do what? But they’re both very supportive and happy. I'm happy.


The UN: What's your favorite role you played and why?


AAH: I played a detective and solved a murder case. Prior to that, I'd never done anything like that. It pushed me, and it was very interesting to dive into that role. It all came down to me.


The UN: What’s your process to prepare for a role?

AAH:

  1. Get the role from agent or manager

  2. Go over the script 4 to 5 times to get a gist of the script itself

  3. Look at my character and get a general feel of who he is

  4. If it's based on a real person I’ll research them as much as I possibly can. Books and legit research to get a better sense of who they are as a person. I put myself in their shoes as much as possible. For a fictional character, I see if there's any personal experiences I can put into that character.


The UN: Tell us about ‘The Fare’, an official submission in 3 independent movie festivals?


AAH: It was the 1st movie I did when I dropped out; still in Hawaii, 3 or 4months before I moved to LA. I was the main character and I was a little nervous; it was my first role I didn't know what to expect. It was an interesting short film. I didn't expect it to get as many awards and accolades as it did. It took off and set me on my path now.



The UN: Have you learned anything by being somebody else?


AAH: Dang that's a tough question. I've played a few characters that opened my eyes to certain things. For the detective role, I gained a respect for people who do those sorts of things because there’s a lot more that goes into it than people realize.

The UN: How do you deal with rejection?


AAH: I don't take it personally. With what I do, that's unfortunately part of the process. You may not be a fit for this specific role but you might be better for this other role. I might get salty for like 5 seconds, then I'm just like its all good, I'll go to the next audition. If anyone were to ask in regards to that, you can't take it personally because it's really not about you.


The UN: What's a major challenge you've faced since being in the industry?


AAH: One of the things I've faced, and really black people in general, we have so much to give and so much talent, we're just not given enough opportunities to really showcase that. That's what I've come across in the last 5 years; or getting calls like “we liked you for the role but we can't give it to you because this (white) person might look better for audiences.” Not an ample amount of opportunities; slowly but surely it's getting better.



The UN: What's your favorite thing about the industry?


AAH: The fact that I’m in the industry! Not many people have the ability to say that they can pursue their dream like a full time career. I'm very thankful and blessed for the ability to say that. In the industry, in this town, doing what I want to do.


The UN: What are some things that changed in the industry since the pandemic?


AAH: The COVID department; you can't get on set unless you get your temperature checked, and now a vaccine. That’s anywhere you go. If you have a temp, you're not working. Now being on set is 9 to 10 hours versus 12 hour days.



The UN: What should one know before moving to LA?


AAH: A few things

  1. Save up at least $10,000 if not more. It's pricey out here. Save as much money as you possibly can.

  2. Make sure it's somewhere you know you actually want to be, it can be a lot. It’s an unforgiving city. Dog eat dog world. Every man for yourself.

  3. If you're pursuing a career in the film industry, you gotta have some thick skin and not take things personally. There are literally millions of other people trying to do the same exact thing you want to do. Nothing is going to just come to you; you really have to go after what you want, and you gotta grind. It's not easy, and you gotta earn everything you get out here.


Follow Aaron on Instagram & check out his Youtube Channel!


If you have a friend that you believe should be featured, please click here!

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page