top of page

Lauren Ashli The Progressive Producer

BY: JADE LEONARD

PHOTOGRAPHY BY: JOHN NALLS

 

Born and raised in the "A", Lauren proudly puts on for her city, Atlanta, GA. She's a black, beautiful, hardworking, and humble businesswoman. Did I mention she's the next Mara Brock Akil? Lauren's been creating in numerous capacities since she was a girl. Her creative spirit has propelled her into her career now as a Production Associate for Warner Brothers Entertainment. Along with her passion for storytelling, she's equally passionate about social justice and has committed a large portion of her life educating and advocating for human rights, while also serving her community. Deeply rooted in faith, Lauren looks to God in all her endeavors and is content and grateful with whatever he may bring her way. She is the founder of JustUs Inc. and the owner of the Black Women Black Men (BWMB) Network. If you’re reading this remember, God brought you here. Your main purpose is to love others, serve others and bring glory to God. It’s all because of Him. So without further delay, I present to you "Lauren Ashli the Progressive Producer".

The UpNext: Who is Lauren Ashli?

Lauren Ashli: "Oh my Gosh! Well, I’m an Atlanta native; I love being from here, I’m a very passionate artist and creative with a passion for storytelling. A passion for black people, our culture, and immersing myself into the culture of Blacks in the South. Deeper than that I’m a Virgo, and I love being a Virgo! I’m a true true Virgo. I work hard for what I want, and I care about the people I’m surrounded by. In essence, I’m a woman of God first and foremost. I am a lover of people and humanity."



The UpNext: What’s the goal and purpose of Just.Us Inc, and how is your organization engaging the black community to vote?


Lauren: "In a nutshell, JustUs is a social service organization that was formed at the beginning of this year to support racial injustice and oppression of this decade, which led me to the verse Isaiah 1:17. It says, “ … do good, seek justice, and correct oppression...”. JustUs does good in the community; whether from feeding and providing warm clothes to the homeless, or reaching back to younger generations --- being involved and understanding the criminal justice system. We’ve connected with several exonerees wrongfully convicted, hearing their stories and asking, “what can we as civilians do to help more people like them get justice?” You know? Correct oppression, getting in the streets protesting; advocating for all Black Lives Matter. Right now, especially, getting people registered to vote AND understanding the importance of voting! Understanding you have power submitting your ballot during an election. So we’re 5 unique women; very passionate about doing good in our community; dedicating a lot of time and a portion of our lives to our common love and understanding of educating our community. Chasing and working to create change."


The UpNext: How did your love for film, writing, and social advocacy come about?


Lauren: "I know I've always had a love for storytelling; going back to dance, amazed with the ability to create stories through art; interested in the idea of taking my personal talents and gifts and sharing that same emotional connection with the feeling the artist is interpreting. Dancing started the peak of interest for me. From dance, I moved to acting. I tried modeling but I didn't like being in front of the camera, so, acting went out the door. So then, I got into journalism because I picked up a love for writing. Then I realized its not the type of writing I wanted to do; so I landed into production and that started to open doors. My main love, admiration, and passion for film is the ability to tell stories and make people feel; I’m the type of storyteller that's interested in character-driven narratives; stories centered around a person and that person’s experience; escaping from reality or vice versa, remind you of your reality and reflect. It's a big part of who I am and I love it, absolutely love it!"

The UpNext: Who are your influences in the film industry?

Lauren: "Ava Duvernay, I love me some Ava Duvernay! Mara Brock Akil (the writer-creator of Girlfriends, The Game, and Being Mary Jane. Those are my top 2 but also Issa Rae; just for being very innovative; I admire her ability to take an idea and now she’s pretty much the face of HBO. I also have male influences like Will Smith; Denzel Washington; Nate Parker. All those people have influenced me some way."


The UpNext: What's the Reel Sisters and what do they mean to you?


Lauren: "Awww... The Reel Sisters. In the film industry its all about networking and who your tribe is, especially when it comes to creating. Aside from creating, just having a support system; people that have your back, people that you know you like the back of their palm, and vice versa. All of that and more inspired the Reel Sisters. In essence, we’re a group of women who all have the common goal of being in the film industry; chasing dreams of writing, producing, and directing. We understand each other, we know what its like to be on this grind and hustle. The Reel Sisters is space/platform/relationship to support each other and be each other's stick when another feels broken. Its a sisterhood, we love each other so so much. I’m thankful for them because of the emotional support. We inspire others to find your tribe to grow and be yourself with."


The UpNext: What do you look for in a script?


Lauren: "Strong characters and storyline. A story that means something, has impact and influence. Not to say every script I write or read needs to be about police brutality or racism, however; I need to feel something. It could be a love story or a comedy, but if it doesn't make me laugh .. *shrugs* If it doesn't make me get in my feelings …*shrugs*. I like scripts that are authentic and can see myself or someone you can relate to; aspects of humanity. One of my favorite movies is the Pursuit of Happyness because it felt so genuine. Even though I don't know what it feels like to sleep in a bathroom stall, I saw the fight in the character. Scripts that move me and feel real."

The UpNext: In doing work in this industry, how do you maintain a sense of wonder, variety, and discovery without getting tired?


Lauren: "The world has a lot to offer. As I get older, I realize there's so much outside of myself, so much to learn and absorb, different types of black culture, people, and experiences, that never want to make me shut myself out from it. So just knowing there's more to life. I get tired, haha, very tired, but what keeps me from giving up is knowing that “God has so much planned for me”. I don't know what that is, but I'm so eager to discover it. Eager to know what else I can do? What else can I accomplish? I understand its gonna take work to get there. Not saying I haven't slept days away because I have… but after I get to rest and be lazy, I always get back up, its important to recognize those days when I don't feel my best or don't feel “successful”, but once I let yourself sit in that, you gotta talk yourself out of it... “I am capable”, “I am strong”, “I am favored by God'' and keep it moving. I’ve always been a hustler. Being in dance and a part of dance companies, dancing 6 days out of the week, that moving, hustler, always doing something energy, has always been in me so I can't stay down for long. I just don't feel comfortable when I'm not doing anything."

The UpNext: How did COVID-19 impact your project APEX, which was centered on the pandemic itself?


Lauren: "COVID had a great impact on where the story was born. I remember being at protests and walking past black police officers and thinking “How could you put on this uniform?”... How can you proudly stand next to your brother or sister officer knowing what you guys are rebutting? and knowing that we just want justice. We just want “us” to have equality. Frankly, I couldn't comprehend them putting on the uniform knowing that another officer murdered another black body. Seeing videos of black officers shedding tears or being stern but mouthing the words “Black Lives Matter” combined with COVID, I just realized black people have been experiencing a pandemic within a pandemic, on top of seeing countless black bodies being killed over the years. This year we had Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and now we’re dealing with Jacob Blake, which is so much. Not only fearing our lives from the police but fearing for our lives with COVID was a lot. We wanted the aspect of how a black police officer may be feeling during these times."

The UpNext: How do you not waste time? AKA how do you get everything you need to get done, done?


Lauren: "I really have to separate things; I have to say “okay Lauren for these number of hours you are going to focus on XYZ and on these numbers of hours you’re going to focus on ABCD” and not let those intertwine cus’ that’s when I start to get scatterbrained. Also, being very strict with myself and knowing that you don't have time to hang out cus’ you have to produce a film, go hop on a call, or a table read. I was working 12 hour days so knowing Monday through Friday I'd be working 12 hours, I don't have the time or the energy to come home and do anything. I had to dedicate my weekends to my other matters so just prioritizing."


The UpNext: What’s next for BWBM Network?


Lauren: "Working on another film, expand the team, and keep creating. BWBM is my go-to as a creative outlet. I want to invite others into our space."

The UpNext: What are 3 pieces of advice you have for aspiring producers/filmmakers?


Lauren:

1. "First thing, just do it … whether its an iPhone, or a camera, grab some friends and “freaking create”. I think a lot of times filmmakers get into the mindset of “I don't have the resources” or “ I don't know anybody”. Look, do what you gotta do! DM people on Instagram. Filmmaking is about networking, so find your tribe of people and just create. The money will come, don't do it for the money.


2. Use the resources you have … a lot of times you may not have all the funds to create a master, mega, feature film, or the money for location permits, or props and special effects so you use what you have and create from there.


3. Familiarize yourself with every department on set, which means you have to communicate with a lot of people. Learn how to allow yourself to be needed by so many people at once; don't get comfortable with just your role or of yourself. You are the resource; arms and legs for a film; the go-to for people to come to with questions; make yourself available; learn how to learn other tasks. Don't bite off more than you can chew!"

The UpNext: Where do you see yourself 5 years from now?


Lauren: "I hope to be able to professionally and independently call myself a producer. Whether its for an independent project or working alongside other seasoned producers in the industry; I hope to be making my way there in five years. Also, it is in my desire to continue to help the film industry in Atlanta expand. In 5 years for JustUs, just continue working as a social justice advocate. Expand JustUs and become state-recognized. Get deeper into work within the prison system, and those who are directly affected."


Follow Lauren on IG @lauren.ashli

350 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page