top of page

David Hunter Jr. The Resilient Pioneer

BY: JADE LEONARD

PHOTOGRAPHY BY: SPENCER CERLOV

 

Hunter grew up in the DC-Maryland area. When asked how he got his start in film, all he could remember when growing up was wanting brownies and an AMC gift card for his birthday. He loved watching TV and movies; while everyone was going to the party on Friday night, he watched Comic View, an early 2000s black comedy show with black comedians telling jokes. He’s always wanted to make other people feel the way watching that show made him feel. He studied theatre at Hampton University, and after freshman year, he knew he was moving to the City of Angels to pursue film. Postgrad, David worked in the DC improv scene, doing many shows at the historic Lincoln Theatre while also teaching middle school. When the opportunity presented itself, he left mid-school year to start anew on the West Coast, where he was “always meant to be.” This didn't come without trials. A near-death experience gave him a whole new outlook on life. A man of faith, he consulted God and discovered he was more than an actor and created Made For More Entertainment, which led to poetry, scripts, and producing stories. David likes to keep the mood light, and comedy brings that relief. He is a working actor and the creator of “Can U Relate?”, a new comedy web series where you get a front row seat to the wrong turns in couples' conversations. Go on the journey with David as he shares about life in Los Angeles, taking risks, and creating spaces for black people in the film industry.


When asked what made you choose an HBCU for school? David responded, “I’m not gonna lie; it wasn’t my first choice.” Like many, an HBCU wasn’t on his radar; he wanted to go to the University of Maryland like his father, or Miami, even Penn State for Track. It took his mom’s encouragement to look into HBCUs to set his sights on black culture and education. Howard was 20 minutes from home, so that was out, but one day a friend said, “I’m going to Hampton, and you should go and apply.” He applied, got in, went to visit, fell in love with the campus, and the rest is history.


The UpNext: So you said you graduated from Hampton and moved to D.C afterward; what was your journey like between D.C and L.A?

David Hunter Jr: “It was a lot of side hustle jobs, graduating knowing you want to be in L.A, but you’re not there, even though I was working and doing things, my mother was like, “Look, L.A ain’t going nowhere, you’ll be able to get out there,” but when you’re not there in the moment, you feel overlooked.”


He did plays and shows and prepared for his big move by reading up and watching everything he could, seeing what was going on in the city he wanted to live in, where he wanted to live when he eventually got there and developing himself as much as possible.


“Once you get here [LA], throw everything away. There’s nothing like actually being here. It’s one thing to visit, and another to live.”

He got there, and the whole plan and job he had were gone. So he got on the hustle train, landed a gig at the Dolby Theatre “Home of the Oscars,” worked for 10 years, and attended the Oscars each year. The time he got hired was the only time they hired people. People get hired and don’t really leave.

TUN: When did the “We Were Made For More” quote come to you?

DHJ: "Years ago, part of my journey here, I got really sick and was in and out of the hospital for a year, hooked up to the machines. And I remember telling God, If you heal me and get me out this, I’ll tell everybody you did it. So every time I speak, I always bring it up because I almost passed away. Being alive and still having some bumps and bruises shifted my mentality, and I took things less casual. I’m up here going after something with one mindset when I’ve been blessed to do things differently, so I need to expand the way I’m thinking."


“I’m made for more than just being an actor; I'm made for more than just waiting for an opportunity, for somebody to give me a role. I can create the opportunity.”

He knew he couldn’t make it in the city and industry without God’s help and confirmation for what he was doing. He knew he couldn't do it all on his own. Made For More Entertainment took a while to get on its feet, and after several No’s, he didn’t let up, recruited his brother and home girl to join the team.


When asked what inspired him to create “Can U Relate”? Memories of him and his Ex come to mind...


Ex: You just gon’ turn the radio up while I’m talking?

David: But I was just turning it up a little bit

Ex: But how can you hear the song and listen to me at the same time?

David: But I am (because guys can do both)


DHJ: “My previous relationship, we would laugh about some of the silly arguments driving down the street… I thought it would be funny to showcase different relationship disagreements funnily. How something out of the blue can happen, and next thing you know, you got two people coming to a head.”

TUN: How do you break down your goals?

DHJ: “You adjust; it's hard when you have a big vision and understanding what’s attainable; what I’ve tried to do is daily bread. What can I do today? In the past, I’ve done too much, and I’ve had a lot of failures. Even my last relationship, an engagement, ended. You learn from those lessons and not bite off more than you can chew; let me not overpromise and underdeliver. If I’m trying to do it all, then I’m not giving anything for God to do. He asks God to meet him where he is and sets monthly goals. Set 3 things you want to achieve in a year versus 20. Sometimes you got like 20 things and didn't do any of them, and you feel like a failure. And how you verbalize things are important too. Start where you can, figure it out, and every month assess where you are and what you did, then that’ll help you move forward.”

TUN: Tell us more about comfort breeding complacency

DHJ: “Mmm… that’s good… I would say I’m not complacent because of the failures I've had. I took a big risk, had thousands of dollars, and went to me getting a car repossessed. I take risks, but I also know how to take more calculated risks. Before I jump, is this a pool or an ocean? The country was built on risk-takers. In LA, people get comfortable because of the weather, what it looks like and what it represents… people say they're going after it with their all, but you have to go after it with everything, leave everything on the floor. I play to win. I go in hard, and if I bump my head, I step back and assess. Too many people want to be where we are. For me to be here and waste time is a disservice to those who prayed for me, supported me, and to myself and what I can accomplish."

TUN: What is your solution to overcoming diversity challenges in the film industry?

DHJ: “One of my jobs is Director of Operations for Diverse Representation. We connect talent to the reps, creating content and showcasing what I do. In my brother’s podcast PostInBlack, we interview black editors who work behind the scenes. Fortunately, I've been able to get jobs as an actor in front of the camera, but that’s not everyone's story. You can still work in Hollywood as an editor on your favorite show, but you don't have to be in front of the camera to work in entertainment."


TUN: What is your vision for Made For More Entertainment? What do you want your legacy to be?

DHJ: “I want us to be in a position where we’re expanding, creating content and opportunities down the road for not just ourselves but other people. One of the best feelings I've had as a creative is obviously getting a check like, man, I did something I wanted to do and got paid for it. Not some exposure or something to put on your resume; Nah, we gotta pay bills out here. As black people in L.A, we don't always see the opportunities to work on a quality project, getting paid, having fun while doing it, and being proud of the work. Sometimes we sacrifice the type of story we’re telling, or it's not that fun. When people work with me, they're gonna know its quality. I’m the good juice, not the off-brand. In terms of my legacy, I want to impact everybody I meet. When I'm in the room, you know I'm there, and when I'm gone, you know I left”. Not to sound arrogant, but you'll know everything was of quality and excellence, touching lives monetarily, educating through stories, or just entertainment with laughs.”



New Episodes Of Can U Relate are released every Friday at 12 pm EST/9 am PST from the Made For More Entertainment YouTube channel along with all of their social media platforms.


Social Pages:

Made For More YouTube: SUBSCRIBE

Instagram: @MadeForMoreEntertainment @CanURelateSeries

Twitter: @MadeForMoreEnt @CanURelateTV

TikTok: @madeformoreentertainment


95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page