top of page

A Look Through HERstory: Black Women Set The Trends

Out of the 31 million small businesses in the U.S, 12 million are women-owned, women of color started 64% of new small businesses last year, and the fastest-growing group of entrepreneurs. Black women are history. Katherine Johnson, a key mathematician who helped send men into space. Ruby Bridges, the first black child who integrated the South, Shirley Chisholm, the first black woman elected into congress. All the cool technology in your phone? Shirley Jackson! Your home’s security? Marie Van Britton Brown. The GIFs you used on your Insta Story or group chat? Lisa Gelobter. The technology that allows you to make phone calls using the internet? (Skype, Google Hangouts) Marian Croak. I say all this to say, we are BOMB and scattered across history. Creating spaces and refusing to quit!


To keep it real, it took Kris and me about 30 to 45 minutes going back and forth Tuesday night, deciding which black females we’d include in the Instagram post. There were just so many amazing women to choose from. Being that our magazine is about highlighting creatives in the entertainment industry, we wanted to include our sports, film, and music inspirations. Even though we couldn’t fit every black woman into the 16-grid square, it felt great that we had so many options, to talk about their accomplishments, our favorite roles of theirs, parts of their personality that we just adored, which reinforced my pride as a black person. For a lot of us, these women are the images we’ve seen coming up and are breaking barriers to affect change in our generation.


For centuries, black women have set trends from our skin, full lips, perky booties, edges, hoop earrings, and long, artsy acrylics. Nevertheless, black women have bent and conformed to “society’s” expectations, when in the background, we were always the hype! But how can we be trending when we’re actually classic? We evolve and change but our beauty and resilience are consistent. As a female service member in the Armed forces, I was excited when the Army recently published their updated grooming standards. Women in general, but especially black women have struggled to try to comply with the grooming standards, Specifically hair standards. Our hair doesn’t just brush back into a bun every day without it getting damaged, especially if one is natural, so many black women wear protective styles, however, now we are now free to wear braids, locs, and twists in uniform. I think they’ve finally realized or have black women at the top who are speaking out, or considerations have been taken by the Soldiers, either way, a change was made. Anyways. . .


I reached out to black women within my tribe and gathered some input on their experiences as young black women in the world today. Many have struggled with their overall image, from hair, and weight, and colorism. Even though the “strong black woman” archetype precedes us, it was given to us for a reason. We represent strength, resilience, determination, and creativity. It's in our DNA. We hold ourselves up when things get tough. Though we may be very strong, we are delicate like flowers and want love and success just like anyone else.



Which historical black woman has motivated you and why?


“I draw motivation from Toni Morrison and Beyoncé. Toni Morrison inspires me because her stories of using the little free time she had to pursue her dreams remind me that I have the power to do the same. Beyoncé’s drive to reach not only excellence but maximum impact as well gives me the strength to do the same. Her model of collaborating with so many artists to create an outstanding finishing product gives us all an example of what can happen when we come together.”


-- Ayonna T.



“Michelle Obama, she’s truly fearless and always shows up as her most authentic self. When she and President Obama were in office people used to make comments about her hair, her style, the way she carried herself, etc. She continued to carry herself with grace and held her head up high! She is resilient and I consider myself resilient; no matter what is going on around her, she continues to push forward.”


-- Kristian S.


"I admire Rihanna because she is unapologetically her. I love that she has dedicated her energy to her passions. You can tell that everything she does is born out of genuine love she creates for herself and I absolutely love that."


-- Aleah B.


“My mother was my biggest motivation when I was growing up. My mother is a single mother and She is an immigrant from the Ivory Coast. She is so strong and resilient and her hard work proved that I could do/ be anything I wanted in this life.”


--Naomi K.


“A black woman that has impacted me historically would be Maya Angelou because her writing and life story inspired me to take myself more seriously when it came to my own writing and creativity.” -


--Sherdell B.


"Philicia Rashad and Kathleen McIntyre. These women are pioneers. They have broken barriers for many women far and wide."


— Taylor M.


The black woman that inspires me every day is my mother. I grew up in the rural area of Ethiopia and from the outside looking in, many people would view my younger self as “less fortunate” or lacking in material things. However, as a small child in the midst of turmoil, I don’t recall the imperfect moments. The things I remember the most all came from my mother. A woman who protected me with everything she had, embodied what it means to lead with your heart/faith, stayed determined and humbled through all adversities, and was always there to remind me of what it means to be strong in the midst of chaos.


--Yordie B



2. Has anyone ever suggested that you alter anything about your look to be more successful or to blend in better? Explain why or why not.



“From about 10 years old, I’ve felt the push to be slimmer. This notion has stayed with me throughout adulthood and I’m still fighting to be in control of my own body image. I think when I was younger, it was a combination of other people projecting their own self-image issues onto me and all of the girls on TV seeming so perfect. When I got to college I think was the first time that I believed that there was a universal “perfect girl” look. Her personality is bubbly, yet assertive. Her makeup is flawless, her hair is laid, her outfit was cohesive from head to toe, nails did, toes did, waist snatched. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that girl, but EVERY girl is not that girl. And no girl can be that girl all the time. I still find myself trying to be this girl... and idek who the hell she is lol.”


-- Ayonna T.


“Yes, I have heard plenty of times that it would be better for me if I wore my hair in a sleek bun to interviews rather than wearing my natural fro. At the time it seemed more “professional” to have a more classic look in a professional setting. However, now I feel as if society is changing all the time, and wearing natural hair to the workplace is more acceptable, which I truly love and appreciate! Hair shouldn’t define your amount of success.”


-- Kristian S.



“I have never experienced someone suggesting that I alter my look but once I started working at my corporate job, I was so uncomfortable that I wanted to alter my appearance so that I wouldn’t draw any more attention to myself. My mother helped me realize that I do not need to alter my appearance and let my work speak for itself.”


--Naomi K.



“With me being a plus-size African American female I feel as though it’s always suggested and encouraged me to change my eating habits and live a healthier lifestyle.”


--Telissa R.


“Yes, because of my body size some people have insinuated that I gain weight to appear more curvaceous or full to replicate a more “womanly” body, in order to be taken more seriously.


--Sherdell B.


"When I was surrounded by ignorant individuals who only saw the world in the Euro-American way this idea that I had to have long straight hair to be professional was being placed into my mind. When more African American women entered my life with their natural hair, they inspired me to live by the great saying “I am not my hair.”


— Taylor M.


“Soon after I moved to the states at the age of 10, I entered a predominately white education system where I found it difficult to celebrate my blackness. Societal thinking weighed in and I felt embarrassed of skin tone and even my curly hair. In my season of self-discovery, it was very fundamental for me to find my foundation and build myself from scratch regardless of what’s accepted or not!”


--Yordie B.


3. If you could type a message to your daughter in the future about being a black woman, what would you say?


“I would say you don’t have to go searching for the woman you want to be. Instead, focus on looking inside of yourself and pulling her out. Never let anyone lead you to believe that you are less intelligent, less capable, or less lovable than anyone else. Don’t spend so much energy trying to defend yourself or the decisions you make. Trust the guidance you receive and reject anything that isn’t Love. Have fun & do what’s right.”


-- Ayonna T.



“You are more than enough, and never let ANYONE dim your light. You deserve a seat at the table just as much as anyone else. God has made you unique, always stay true to you!”❤️


-- Kristian S.



“I would tell my future daughter that black women are superheroes and she can do whatever she wants in life. I would tell her to always be herself and being a nerd is cool."


-- Naomi K.


“If I could type a message to my future black daughter about being a black woman, I would tell her never let anyone belittle her about her skin color. I would also constantly tell her that being black is beautiful. Just because everyone doesn’t appreciate your skin color doesn’t mean something is wrong with it. A female that is African American, that is educated is the most dangerous thing in America and that’s what they’re afraid of.”


--Telissa R.


“To my future daughter, I would tell her to always be yourself and not change because you feel as though you don’t fit in. It can be hard when you’re younger to see that not fitting people’s or society’s mold is okay and not as bad as what it’s portrayed to be.”


--Sherdell B.


"You are more than enough. Your beauty and value are based upon what your heart looks like. Be wary of the weight of the world. It's okay to create your own definition of strength and stick to that. Love God first then love yourself."


— Taylor M.


Dear future daughter,

You are stronger than you think. Braver than you know. Smarter than you give yourself credit for. The world can be ugly, it can get frustrating sometimes, and you may even feel like you’re in a consistent battle for acceptance, BUT I want you to know you will never be alone. If by chance I’m not here to see you through, I need you to understand the power of God, and the power of being a black woman. You are the broken dreams of your ancestors, a prime example of anything being possible in God’s time. You are resilient. You are capable. You are phenomenally made. You will conquer it all. Always remember, strength is in your DNA, have pride in it, and don’t forget to lean on your commUNITY! There is nothing more beautiful than black women standing as one!


--Yordie B.


Dear Daughter,

Trust that feeling in your gut, it's almost always right.

I love you and I want to show you the world.

How beautiful life is, even when it's gray.

You have parts of me but you are not me, and I would never want you to be anyone but yourself.

My job is to foster and nurture the person you are and not change you.

Fear is all in your head, push through that door with the key of knowledge.

You are enough no matter your size, color, hair, whatever!

It's okay if you’re not liked by everyone even though it seems like the “cool” thing to do.

If you have to go your own way, go; know you’ll always have the support of God and your family.


-- Jade L.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page